Skip Navigation
Explore our COVID-19 Resources and Updates
CHS blue logo square
Home > News > Center News > 2012

Center News

Emerging Leaders in Biosecurity Fellows Announced

Inaugural Group Assembles in Washington, DC, Today

MAY 14, 2012—Baltimore, MD—The Center for Biosecurity of UPMC today announced the selection of the inaugural group of Fellows in the Emerging Leaders in Biosecurity Initiative, a competitive program designed to create and sustain a multidisciplinary community of highly talented young professionals in the field of biosecurity.

Selected from government, defense, public health, science, medicine, and the social sciences, the Fellows will participate in a slate of seminars, biosecurity conferences, networking events, a writing competition, and educational webinars run by current leaders in the field. The goal of the program is to cultivate the “best and brightest” next-generation biosecurity professionals poised to contribute to the future of the field.

The 2012 Emerging Leaders in Biosecurity Fellows are:

  • David Aaron, JD, attorney in the U.S. Department of Justice National Security Division, Office of Law and Policy.
  • Jessica Appler, PhD, Science and Technology Policy Fellow with the American Association for the Advancement of Science working for the Chemical and Biological Defense Division of the Department of Homeland Security’s Science and Technology Directorate.
  • Patrick Ayscue, who is graduating from Cornell University’s College of Veterinary Medicine in May, where he will remain for another year to complete a PhD in epidemiology.
  • Stefanie Bumpus, PhD, Science and Technology Policy Fellow with the American Association for the Advancement of Science working in the Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Nuclear, Chemical, and Biological Defense Programs at the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD). She currently serves in the OASD/NCB-Office of Threat Reduction and Arms Control, supporting the DoD Cooperative Biological Engagement Program.
  • Hillary Hager Carter, PhD, Science and Technology Policy Fellow through the American Association for the Advancement of Science working for the U.S. Department of State, where she serves as a Program Officer for the Biosecurity Engagement Program.
  • Sheana Cavitt, MS, Senior Associate in PricewaterhouseCoopers’ Washington Federal Practice Advisory group.
  • Angela Fowlkes, graduate student at the University of Alabama at Birmingham in the School of Public Health; she is entering Howard Law School in the fall, and she is also employed at Biolife Plasma Services, a division of Baxter Bioscience.
  • Ashley Grant, MPH, PhD, Research Associate, Galveston National Laboratory, University of Texas Medical Branch.
  • Haroun Habib, MPH, Policy Support Officer at the Office of the U.S. Global AIDS Coordinator at the U.S. Department of State.
  • Katherine Hagen, MS, Presidential Management Fellow with the Office of Program Analysis and Evaluation at the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.
  • Carolyn Hall, PhD, Biodefense Analyst at the Biodefense Knowledge Center at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.
  • Nicholas Kelley, PhD, Research Associate for the BioWatch program and Preparedness Program Coordinator at the Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy at the University of Minnesota.
  • Luis Martinez, MD, MPH, President and CEO of Xyrion Medical, a biomedical consulting firm in Puerto Rico, and a Clinical Instructor at the Ponce School of Medicine.
  • Michael Montague, PhD, Staff Scientist in the Synthetic Biology and Bioenergy department of the J. Craig Venter Institute in Rockville, MD.
  • Rakesh Raghuwanshi, MPH, Interdisciplinary Scientist assigned to the medical countermeasure regulatory science initiative at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
  • Patrick Rose, PhD, Policy Analyst at the Center for Health & Homeland Security, and Adjunct Assistant Professor, University of Maryland School of Medicine, Department of Epidemiology and Public Health.
  • Sara Rubin, MPH, Program Analyst, National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO).
  • Yuliya Seldina, MPH, doctoral candidate at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences.
  • Calvin Siow, Program Coordinator for the Department of International Health at Georgetown University.
  • Halley Smith, MS, member of the Technical Staff in the International Biological Threat Reduction program at Sandia National Laboratories.
  • Brendan Thomason, PhD, Senior Analyst, U.S. Department of Defense.
  • Anthony Treubrodt, MS, Science and Technology Analyst in the Weapons of Mass Destruction Directorate of the FBI, and a Fellow in the Program for Emerging Leaders at the Center for the Study of WMD at the National Defense University.
  • Renee Wegrzyn, PhD, Lead Associate at Booz Allen Hamilton.
  • Stephen White, MS, Bioterrorism Defense Coordinator for the Miami Bureau of Laboratories, Florida Department of Health.
  • Jaime Yassif, doctoral candidate in the biophysics group at UC Berkeley.

The Fellows will attend the 2012 Spring Symposium today in Washington, DC, followed by a talk by Congressional staffers.

Dr. Ann Norwood, Director of the Emerging Leaders program and Senior Associate at the Center for Biosecurity, said, “We are very impressed by the high caliber of Fellows in this inaugural year of the program. It shows that this type of networking community was needed in the biosecurity field, and it also demonstrates that many new, talented professionals are coming up through the ranks.”

Complete biographies of the Fellows, symposium agenda, and program details can be found on the Initiative’s website:


The Center for Biosecurity is an independent, nonprofit organization of UPMC whose mission is to strengthen national security by reducing the risks posed by biological attacks, epidemics, and other destabilizing events, and to improve the nation’s resilience in the face of such events.



Our Mission

To protect people’s health from epidemics and disasters and ensure that communities are resilient to major challenges.