

621 East Pratt Street • Suite 210 • Baltimore, Maryland 21202 • centerforhealthsecurity.org

Center for

Health Security

Gene Synthesis Governance Meeting Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security

April 9, 2019 Astor Ballroom St. Regis Hotel, Washington, DC

AGENDA

8:30-9:00	Coffee/Pastries in George Washington Room
9:00-9:15	Welcome and Introductory Remarks Tom Inglesby, Director, Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security Tricia Delarosa, HHS Office of Preparedness and Response
9:15-9:30	Gene Synthesis Policy Issues since 2010 Gigi Kwik Gronvall, Senior Scholar, Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security
9:30-10:45	Back to the Future: Gene Synthesis Technology Since 2010 Moderator: Michael Montague, Senior Scholar, Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security Nathan Hillson, Director of Synthetic Biology Informatics, Joint Bioenergy Institute, USA Alexis Rovner, Co-founder and CEO of 64-x
10:45-11:15	Coffee Break in Salon
11:15-12:30	Gene Synthesis Providers—Policy Issues Since 2010 Moderator: Gigi Kwik Gronvall, Senior Scholar, Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security Patrick Boyle, Head of Codebase, Gingko Bioworks James Diggans, Director, Bioinformatics and Biosecurity, Twist Bioscience Sarah R. Carter, Principal, Science Policy Consulting, LLC

12:30-1:00	Break and Pick up Lunch in George Washington Room
1:00-2:15	 Gene Synthesis Governance at the Local Level Moderator: Nancy Connell, Senior Scholar, Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security Maria Chavez, Executive Director, Treasurer & Director of Community Engagement, BioCurious Joseph Kanabrocki, Associate Vice President for Research Safety and Professor of Microbiology, University of Chicago Edward H. You, Supervisory Special Agent, FBI
2:15-2:45	Coffee Break
2:45-4:00	Ongoing Efforts to Increase DNA Synthesis Security Moderator: Gigi Kwik Gronvall, Senior Scholar, Center for Health Security David Shepherd, Science and Technology Program Manager, US Department of Homeland Security Trevor Petrel, Director of Advanced Technology Development, Battelle Kristin Omberg, Technical Group Manager, Chemical and Biological Signatures Science, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
4:00-4:45	Paths Forward for Gene Synthesis Governance: Town Hall Discussion
4:45-5:00	Closing



621 East Pratt Street • Suite 210 • Baltimore, Maryland 21202 • centerforhealthsecurity.org

Gene Synthesis Governance Meeting

April 9, 2019 St. Regis Hotel, Washington, DC

Meeting Participants

Evan Appleton Harvard Medical School

Jason Bannan FBI

Kavita Berger Gryphon Scientific

Luciana Borio Former National Security Staff

Katie Bowman National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

Patrick Boyle Codebase at Ginkgo Bioworks

Cindy Bruckner-Lea Pacific Northwest National Lab

Peter Carr MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Sarah Carter Science Policy Consulting

Maria Chavez BioCurious

Eileen Choffnes

Anita Cicero Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security Nancy Connell Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security

Edward Cope GMU Biodefense/Global Health Security

Hanson Cowan CDC

Center for

Health Security

Kathleen Danskin HHS/ASPR

Patricia Delarosa HHS/ASPR

Diane DiEuliis NDU

James Diggans Twist Bioscience

Jessica Dymond JHU APL

Samuel Edwin CDC

Gerald Epstein NDU

Mallory Epting HHS/ASPR

Jared Evans JHU APL Rachel Evans JHU School of Public Health

Steven Evans Retired, Dow AgroSciences

Phil Ferro National Security Council Staff

Claire Marie Filone JHU APL

Michael Fisher Federation of American Scientists

Douglas Friedman Engineering Biology Research Consortium

Megan Frisk US Department of State

Becky Gates Office of Science & Technology Policy

Cyril Gay USDA-ARS

Steven Goldbaum Lumina Analytics

Ashley Grant MITRE

Gigi Gronvall Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security

Andrew Haddow General Dynamics Health Solutions at USAMRIID

Wendy Hall US Department of Homeland Security

Joseph Hamel HHS/ASPR

DeKeely Hartsfield US Department of Health & Human Services Benjamin Hasselbring CDC

Patricia Hernandez Sandia National Laboratories

Nathan Hillson Berkeley Lab

Kimberly Hofmeyer MITRE

Michelle Holko Booz Allen Hamilton

James Holt US Department of Health & Human Services

Tom Inglesby Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security

Patrick Iversen USAMRIID

Jake Jordan NTI | bio

Joseph Kanabrocki University of Chicago

Andy Kilianski US Department of Defense

Kanako Kitahara MHLW/HHS

Amanda Kobokovich Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security

Susan Koch

Tamika Knight US Department of Homeland Security

Michael Krug George Mason University

Aditya Kunjapur University of Delaware Mary Lancaster DTRA

Leila Langston US Department of Energy

Elizabeth Lapatovich Cherokee National Assurance at USAMRIID

Theresa Lawrence HHS/ASPR

Betty Lee US Department of Commerce

Yong-Bee Lim George Mason University

Sheng Lin-Gibson NIST Biosystems and Biomaterials Division

Danielle Lohman US Department of State

Jason Matheny Georgetown University

Von McClee CDC

Michelle McKinney NIH

Margaret Miller Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security

Allison Mistry Booz Allen Hamilton

Michael Montague Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security

Robin Moudy ASPR/Division of International Health Security

Colby Newson CSIS Tiffany Nguyen USAMRIID

Ali Nouri Federation of American Scientists

Christopher O'Donnell US Department of Homeland Security

Michael O'Keefe DOD (LMI A&AS Spt)

Kristin Omberg PNNL

Michael Parker McDaniel College

Michael Patterson

Dana Perkins US Department of Health & Human Services

Trevor Petrel Battelle

Perri Pleeter DHS S&T CAPO

Jody Proescher JHU APL

Lauren Quattrochi MITRE

Kevin Ramkissoon NIH

Georgia Ray

Craig Reed Inspirion Bio

Laura Regan OSD

Bill Rhodes US Senate, HSGAC David Rockcliffe National Science Foundation

Barbara Rogers CDC

Alexis Rovner 64-x

Christina Sanders National Intelligence University

Abu Sayed USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service

John Scarbeck US Department of Homeland Security

Matt Sharkey Aveshka, Inc.

Sushil Sharma GAO, Science, Technology, Assessment, and Analytics

Dave Shepherd US Department of Homeland Security

Shruti Sinkar

Alias Smith AAAS – Hosted by National Science Foundation

Halley Smith Sandia National Laboratories

Jacinta Smith CDC

Amy Smithson

Jessica Smrekar HHS/ASPR

William So FBI/WMD Directorate Dan Sosin CDC

Robert Spring NDU

David Stiefel USDA

Jim Stokes Office of the DASD

Anita Street US Department of Energy

Samantha Stroman CSIS

Omar Tabbaa Battelle Memorial Institute

Sara Tharakan

Althea Treacy NIH

Jessica Tucker NIH/Office of Science Policy

Dan Tuten CDC

David Walburger MITRE

Tsung-Hsi Wang Taiwan Ministry of Health and Welfare/TECRO

Lane Warmbrod Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security

Paige Waterman OSTP

Ian Watson OSTP Matthew Watson

Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security

Sharlene Weatherwax

US Department of Energy

Jaime Yassif NTI

Ed You FBI

Cari Young NIH

Nathalie Zeitouni Battelle National Biodefense Institute